Posted by: Tommy | February 16, 2011

Getting High in Cape Town

No, not that kind of high..although we did get approached several times walking out of the backpackers (hostel) by dudes offering “good marijuana – you will like it very much!” I guess they have figured out a good place to target their sales pitch.

Actually, I just wanted to share some of the beautiful views we had being up high, you know, on hills, in Cape Town. Cape Town has to be one of the most beautiful cities in the world: gorgeous beaches with towering, craggy peaks rising out of the shoreline.

We had a picnic on Signal Hill at sunset, and we enjoyed it so much, we did it again.

View of Cape Town from our picnic spot on Signal Hill

Cape Town, especially Table Mountain, gets enveloped by the "Table Cloth" - a wave of mist that comes and blankets the city.

Table Mountain, right before sunset "set" in

Sunset on Signal Hill

After 2 picnics on Signal Hill, we set our sights on getting even higher.  It took us until our last day in Africa, but we managed to reach the summit of Table Mountain on our final morning.  Anna wasn’t feeling well, so she rode the cable car each way before rushing off for Robben Island.  I was feeling good (and cheap – $14 each way for the cable car!) so I decided I could hike the 3 miles up.

And after an hour, I was really regretting that decision.  On the one hand, the view was stunning and I could stop every 5 or 10 minutes and just stare out over the majesty of Table Bay, catching my breath and reveling in the beauty of nature.  On the other hand, I felt like I was going to vomit every few steps and had to stop and catch my breath.  It was hard to enjoy the view because the footing is steep and extremely rocky – most of the time I was staring at the ground, trying not to tumble down Table Mountain.

But it was worth it.  It took me 1 hour 40 minutes and the sense of accomplishment at the top was worth the agony on the way up.  I’ve been feeling out of shape in Africa – we don’t walk much because so much of Africa has to be seen by car.  Either there’s crime or lions threatening you if you walk.  The climb up the mountain had my heart pumping and sweat pouring – in a good way.  That said, I gladly paid the $14 and rode the cable car down, for the experience, of course.

The best way to get high in Cape Town!

Responses

  1. Congrats on making it to the top! My mom and I only made it half-way: http://bit.ly/eCwa6N

  2. Stunning is right. But wow what a climb Tommy — 3 miles up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

