Posted by: Anna | October 6, 2010

We’re off

We are at DFW writing this post – free internet, $14 internet cable. Luckily we were able to borrow one. The last week has been a whirlwind of family time and frantic packing and getting organized to leave for a year.

We have all of our stuff in storage now – our storage unit is a sculpture of furniture and boxes over 11 feet high. Thanks to our friend Rob for providing a good home for some of our furniture and my parents for providing a good home for some of our valuables. And you’re welcome Dad for letting you provide a home for Tommy’s big 61″ tv.

Our condo is freshly painted and clean, ready for the tenant we will hopefully have soon. We have hired a management company to take care of that for us since we were not able to make arrangements for it before we left.

We have given the accountant our paperwork so our taxes can be completed next year, and Dad was kind enough to draw up wills and other necessary paperwork in case something happens to us.

After great arguing, charming, and annoyance, we have managed to cancel our uverse internet and tv, our cell phones (don’t get us started), and our health insurance. We have activated health insurance that is good in every country except the US.

We have sold both of our cars, forwarded our mail, and numerous other small tasks too boring to mention.

Last weekend we went to New Orleans with Tommy’s parents and siblings. It was actually a welcome break from the craziness of organizing everything, and we had a lot of fun just being together. When we said goodbye to Tommy’s parents, Tommy found the environment in New Orleans “a little dusty”. Tommy’s mom found it more than a little dusty…

Last night we had a family get together with my aunts and cousins who live locally. My mom got down the Christmas decorations and set up a little tree, which was so incredibly sweet, if out of season, since I’ll miss Christmas with the family this year. She made our traditional Christmas eve dinner of spaghetti, salad, and garlic bread, and surprised me with some Veuve Cliquot! I laughed and tried not to cry. There were some great small practical presents that we can use in Russia – scarf, socks, hats, and feet warmers. And one gift I’m not taking – a handmade apron that my mom and grandmother worked on together. All the aunts brought cookies and cards, and we are enjoying cookies this afternoon and feeling loved.

My mom and dad had lunch with me today at home, and mom went to the airport with us. We both tried not to cry, and I was successful until I got in the taxi to go to our gate and then the tears were flowing. Tommy cracked some silly jokes and started making faces at me until I stopped.

Our next post will be from a foreign country, and hopefully be much more interesting than the last month or so.

With Love,

Anna

Responses

  1. What a wonderful event Sally, Jerry and the rest of your family prepared for you two! And just so you know — it’s been “dusty” here in Houston today! Love you both — have fun, take care of each other, be safe and skype periodically. Oh, and don’t forget my coffee mugS (i figure if I remind you enough, you’ll get me one from every country – no???) LOL

  2. I can’t believe it’s here already! Have fun! Great seeing y’all last night!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to hear all the adventures! BIG *hugs*

  3. Bon Voyage! I can’t wait to get your next post.

  4. I can’t wait to read about your travelling journey now that you are finally off! I have enjoyed hearing about preparations! I know you will both have an experience of a lifetime and will have so many stories to tell your kids one day! Enjoy every moment.

  5. I have to say this is the toughest good-bye I have ever had to say. I am so blessed to have a daughter I also consider my best friend. I tried to play Scarlett O’Hara (I will think about that tomorrow) as long as I could about them leaving but pretty soon there were no more tomorrows and it was good-bye.

    Going to the doctor together was fun. Hope Dr. Dunn is not reading this. He was definitely lipstick worthy. Even if he didn’t have any style sense when he said the support hose were stylish. (Yuck!)

    I was glad I got to ride to the airport with you and have those last few minutes. You two are very special and were sweet to watch as you worked together so cheerfully to get the massive amount of things done you had to do. What collaboration!! Love you both!

  6. dont worry mom cried enough for the both of us! sounds like you had a little bit of a rough start but im sure things will take off from here!!!! cant wait to keep reading about your adventures… love yall & miss you both!! Anna tell T that Joe signed the papers yesterday so were ready to rock ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

