Posted by: Anna | July 14, 2010

Worship Around the World

One of the things I will miss most while I am gone is my regular church home. There is something wonderful and comforting about attending worship where you know people, and they know you, and you know the ropes. There is a wonderful sense of community, something we all crave. However, I am excited about the opportunity to worship around the world too. In preparation, I am reading a book called God Is Not One: The Eight Rival Religions That Run the World — And Why Their Differences Matter. The thesis of this book is that our modern desire to accept all religions as paths up the same mountain is wrong, and we would be better served to understand at least the basics of the world’s major religions. As I travel, I think I will be able to learn more and engage more with at least this basic understanding. I too am tempted to believe that all religions are valid paths up the same mountain…however, upon reflection, I also realize this is not true.

So with that in mind, as we travel, I plan to worship in different churches around the world. Even within the umbrella of Christianity, there are vast differences regionally in how we worship. My hope is that with an open heart, my own relationship with God will grow. Since many tourist sites are also religious sites, I will also have the opportunity to see how Buddhists, Hindus and Jews worship.

When you travel, do you attend formal worship services? I have not in the past, and maybe I have missed out. If you do, why?

Leave a Reply

Categories

